dancehost.blogg.se

2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software
2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software













2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software
  1. 2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software how to#
  2. 2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software install#
  3. 2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software upgrade#

The bigger problem was that none of the Mac specific hardware was working properly. There were a few more privacy related questions than I had remembered from all my years with Windows installations, but once properly answered, we had the regular blue Windows desktop looking at us.

2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software

Installing Windows – always fun!Īside from one random hiccup that made the installer freeze the first time, Windows finished the installation without further hitches the second time around. Thought I’d mention it, in case one of us needs to do this. That’s handy if you ever want to go back to macOS, but don’t have access to any installation media. Good to know for next time.Īnd speaking of booting differently, holding down CMD+ALT+R will start the Mac in Internet Recovery Mode. I’ve not been able to try this myself, but apparently that’s how it’s done. If you’re booting into a USB stick instead of a DVD, hold down the ALT/OPTION key while you’re starting up your Mac instead. It worked great! Windows gave me the message to “press any key to boot from CD”, which starts the installation process. Thanks to Steve Davies though, who was watching the stream, he found out that by holding the C key while booting, Macs will indeed boot from CD. On a Mac, we have no user accessible BIOS. On PC hardware, I’d usually go into the BIOS and tweak the boot sequence, making sure that the CD drive comes before the hard disk.

2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software how to#

With a (more or less) fresh hard disk in place in my Mac, my first hurdle was to figure out how to make the Mac boot from anything other than the internal hard drive. It’s just good to know that I have another OS to try some day. I was very impressed, and felt almost sorry to overwrite CentOS with Windows. Even those awkward “special” keys worked out of the box, such as volume, display and keyboard dimming. To my complete surprise, CentOS 7 booted just fine on the Mac hardware. The old hard disk came from a Samsung Q330 laptop, on which I had CentOS 7 installed. In case my Windows 10 Folly wasn’t going to be successful, I would have something to go back to in a jiffy. I didn’t want to touch my current installation of High Sierra. I started by swapping out an old hard disk from another laptop I had lying around, so see if this experiment would work in principle.

  • and a wired Internet Ethernet Connection (I’ll tell you why later on).
  • a bootable Windows Installation Disk ur USB Sick (can be created with the Windows Media Creation Tool).
  • What we needįor this experiemnt, we need the following ingredients: I thought I’d take some notes on how I did this step by step, and give you my opinions if this was an adventure worth undertaking. I did this in two live streams the other night, and continued the process over the following days – and now I’ve got a (more or less working) Windows 10 installation on my MacBook Pro (early 2011 Edition). However, being the hacker that I am, I thought perhaps I’ll try the “Windows Only” experience. Apple’s recommended way is to do all this from macOS, using their own Bootcamp setup.

    2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software install#

    So I thought, perhaps I’ll put in a new hard drive that I had in another old laptop and install Windows 10 on it. Even if I could keep up with Mojave and beyond, the hardware might just not be fast enough anymore to give me an enjoyable experience.

    2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software upgrade#

    I’m stuck with macOS High Sierra, without an option to upgrade without shadowy patches. I’ve had it since 2011 and it’s still going strong.Īpple however doesn’t want to suport it anymore.

    2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software

    It does everything I want for a portable coding, writing and occasional editing device.















    2011 macbook pro windows 10 bootcamp suport software